Getting a DWI will attract different legal charges depending on your state laws. For instance, in Arizona, getting a DWI attracts a minimum fine of $250, or a jail term for up to 10 days. Your license may also be suspended for 90 to 360 days. You do not want a DWI charge on your record either, as it may also invite other negative effects, like raising your insurance premiums. You can save yourself from getting a DWI by installing an ignition interlock device.
How Ignition Interlock Devices Prevent Drivers from Getting a DUI Charge
An ignition tracking device is a car breathalyzer that is installed in a vehicle by experienced ignition interlock installers. The device requires a driver to breathe into it before starting the car so that it can determine the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of the driver. If the levels are above the required minimum, mostly around 0.02 BAC, the ignition interlock will stop the engine from starting. Ignition interlocks have prevented thousands of drunk driving cases in the U.S.
When Should You Install the Ignition Interlock Device?
Most sober drivers who are not prone to drinking and driving, typically do not install an ignition interlock in their cars. However, for DUI offenders, including first-time offenders, some state laws require them to install the ignition interlock device before getting back on the road. Arizona is one of the states that makes it mandatory for DUI offenders to install ignition interlock devices in their cars.
Even so, you can choose to install the interlock device in your car at your discretion. You may have a teenage daughter or son who is most likely to attempt drunk driving, or your spouse may have a drinking problem. This will save any of them from getting a DWI charge, in a situation where they attempt to drive while intoxicated. Of most importance is that the ignition interlock device will save them from causing an accident.
Can You Get a DWI Even After Ignition Interlock Installation?
Some heedless drivers may find ways of cheating the alcohol test of the ignition interlock device. Only a few drivers may have the technical expertise to disable the device. Therefore, most choose to have a sober stranger or friend breathe into the device. However, this is counter-intuitive as the device will initiate a rolling retest after 15 minutes of driving. The device is programmed to send real-time updates to the monitoring agencies. As such, when you skip the retest or violate the ignition interlock device in other ways, you may be stopped by a police officer and charged with DUI.
Implications of Getting a DWI
Getting a DWI may damage your career or family life, especially if your DUI offense is treated as a felony. Depending on your state, first and second DUI offenses may be treated as misdemeanors. However, subsequent DWI offenses may be treated as a felony, depending on your arrest and your previous DUI record. If it is judged that an accident was as a result of DWI, you will have a tough time escaping long-term jail, especially if the accident resulted in causalities.
Your employer may choose to let you go, instead of having to install interlock devices on the company car that you drive. Additionally, in case you are in the process of divorce, or you get divorced in the future, the court may use your DUI records to deny you custody of your children. Future employers may also deny you work opportunities based on your DUI record.
If a $2,000 device can save you from all these complications that can bring your life to a standstill, why not have the ignition interlock device installed in your car? There are worse problems than getting a DWI, and an interlock device can prevent them from happening. You will get more value from installing a car breathalyzer compared to the car breathalyzer cost.